top of page
  • jashvithadhagey

Bollywood music with a feminist twist

Updated: Jun 1, 2021

EK DO TEEN CHAR from Tezaab (1988)

Mohini… Mohini… Mohini…

Ho Ho Ho..

Hoye…

Namaskar!

Namaskar!


Kahiye, Kya Sunenge Aap Tell me, what would you like to hear?

Arre Pehle Yeh Kahiye, Kahaan Thi Aap First of all, you tell us, where have you been?

Main, Main Kar Rahi Thi Kisi Ka Intezaar

Me? I was waiting for someone

Kaun Hai Woh

Who is that?

Woh, Jisse Karti Hoon Pyaar

The one whom I’m in love with

Haaye...

Oh my!

Aur, Jisse Karti Hoon Minnatein Baar Baar

And to whom I plead over and over again

Kaise

How?

Aise...

Like this

Ding Dang Ding, Ding Dang Ding Dang Ding Dang,

Ding Dang Dang, Ding Dong Ding Dang…

[CHORUS] Ek Do Teen, Chaar Paanch Chhe Saath Aath Nau One two three, four five six seven eight nine

Dus Gyarah, Barah Terah Ten eleven, twelve thirteen

Ek Do Teen, Chaar Paanch Chhe Saath Aath Nau One two three, four five six seven eight nine

Dus Gyarah, Barah Terah Ten eleven, twelve thirteen

Tera Karoon, Tera Karoon Din Gin Gin Ke Intezaar I’m waiting for you while I count the days

Aaja Piya Aayi Bahaar Come my beloved, spring season has arrived

Tera Karoon Din Gin Gin Ke Intezaar I’m waiting for you while I count the days

Aaja Piya Aayi Bahaar Come my beloved, spring season has arrived

[CHORUS]

Chaudah Ko Tera Sandesa Aaya (x2)

Your letter came on the fourteenth

Pandrah Ko Aaunga Yeh Kehlaya

You wrote that you’ll come on the fifteenth

Chaudah Ko Aaya Na Pandrah Ko Tu

You came neither on the fourteenth nor on the fifteenth

Tadpaake Mujhko Tune Kya Paaya

What did you achieve by torturing me?

Solah Ko Bhi, Solah Ko Bhi Solah Kiye The Shringaar Solah ko toh, maine toh chodh diya intezaar

On the sixteenth, I put on sixteen adornments

Aaja Piya Aayi Bahaar Bin tere bhi aayi bahaar

Come my beloved, spring season has arrived

Tera Karoon Din Gin Gin Ke Intezaar Tera na karne se din gin ke intezaar

I’m waiting for you while I count the days

Aaja Piya Aayi Bahaar Bin tere bhi aayi bahaar

Come my beloved, the spring season has arrived

[CHORUS]

Satrah Ko Samjhi Sang Choot Gaya

On the seventeenth I thought that you left me

Attahrah Ko Dil Toot Gaya Attarah ko dil ko sukoon mil gaya

On the eighteenth, my heart broke

Ro Ro Guzaara Maine Saara Unnees Khushi manane mein beeta unnees

While crying I spent the whole of nineteenth

Bees Ko Dil Ke Tukde Hue Bees Bees ko yaad aaye mere kaam pachees

On the twentieth, my heart got broken into twenty pieces

Fir Bhi Nahi, Fir Bhi Nahi Dil Se Gaya Tera Pyaar Fir uske baad toh tere liye udd gaya pyaar

Still my love for You didn’t escape my heart

Aaja Piya Aayi Bahaar Bin tere jo aayi bahaar

Come my beloved, the spring season has arrived

Tera Karoon Din Gin Gin Ke Intezaar Tera na karne se din gin ke intezaar

I’m waiting for you while I count the days

Aaja Piya Aayi Bahaar Bin tere bhi aayi bahaar

Come my beloved, spring season has arrived

[CHORUS]

Ikkees Beeti, Baais Gayi

The twenty-first and the twenty-second passed

Teeas Guzri Chaubees Gayi

The twenty-third and the twenty-fourth passed too

Pachhis Chhabbees Ne Mara Mujhe Pacchis chhabees pe samjha mujhe

The twenty-fifth and the twently-sixth killed me

Birha Ki Chakki Mein Main Pis Gayi Singledom mein kitna hai mazaa

I felt as if I got ground in the cold grinding mill

Din Bas, Din Bas Mahine Ke Hai Aur Chaar

There are only four more days of the month remaning

Aaja Piya Aayi Bahaar Math aa piya, ab zaroorat nahi

Come my beloved, spring season has arrived

Tera Karoon Din Gin Gin Ke Intezaar Tera na karne se din gin ke intezaar

I’m waiting for you while I count days

Aaja Piya Aayi Bahaar Bin tere bhi aayi bahaar

Come my beloved, spring season has arrived

[CHORUS]

Din Bane Hafte, Re Hafte Mahine

The days became weeks, the weeks became months

Mahine Ban Gaye Saal

And the months turned into years

Aake Zara Tu Dekh Toh Le Mujhe na ab kar disturb

Please come and see

Kya Hua Hai Mera Haal Main toh hoon bade mauj mein

What condition I am in

Deewani Dar Dar Main Phirti Hoon Duniya ki galiyon min bindaas phirti rahoon

I roam around here and there like a crazy woman

Na Jeeti Hoon Na Main Marti Hoon Rozaana main ek nayi zindagi jeeti hoon

I am neither living nor dying

Tanhaayi Ki Raatein Sehti Hoon Patriarchy ko bhi smash karti rahoon

I bear the lonely nights(all by myself)

Aaja, Aaja, Aaja Aaja Aaja Math aa, math aa, math aa

Come, come, come

Aaja Ke Din Ginti Rehti Hoon Maine toh din gin na chodh hi diya

Come, I keep on counting the days

[CHORUS]

Tera Karoon Din Gin Gin Ke Intezaar Tera na karne se din gin ke intezaar

I’m waiting for you while I count days

Aaja Piya Aayi Bahaar Bin tere bhi aayi bahaar

Come my beloved, spring season has arrived

Tera Karoon Din Gin Gin Ke Intezaar Tera na karne se din gin ke intezaar

I’m waiting for you while I count days

Aaja Piya Aayi Bahaar Bin tere bhi aayi bahaar

Come my beloved, spring season has arrived

[CHORUS]


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The vehicle of rural India’s reality

A film review of Cinema bandi By Jashvitha Dhagey Telugu audiences cheered on Mahesh Babu as he saved his friend and his village in Maharshi (Sage). In classic Tollywood style, we got to know more abo

Iran’s slice of life to the world

A brief analysis of Iranian Cinema By Jashvitha Dhagey Iranian filmmakers have the ability to take you through a journey of emotions that are entirely yours even though they are a response to their st

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page